Breakfast / Dessert / Recipes / Recipes I've Made / Weight Watchers

Microwave Apple Crisp (5 points)

Nommable: Microwave Apple Crisp

Microwave Apple Crisp
I have so many apples in the house I might make this every night this week… yay, fall!

Alright, so this concoction might be lacking a true crisp texture, but it’s the best title I could come up with. I’m obsessed with microwave cooking for a few reasons, one of which is because it’s easy. It’s also convenient for college students and anyone cooking meals for one. My favorite breakfast is a 5-minute egg sandwich, for which I cook the egg whites in the microwave, and I promise to post soon! Anyway, I was perusing BuzzFeed Food, which is always dangerous a.) late at night and b.) when you’re dieting. This list of 18 Microwave Snacks You Can Cook in a Mug inspired me to whip up this recipe for dessert… and the best part is that it’s not unhealthy! Yessss. I’ve included the Weight Watchers points values breakdown in the ingredients list!

Prep Time: 5 min
Cook Time: 3-4 min
Serves: 1
Level: Easy

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium to large apple (0 points) – My favorite are honeycrisp apples, but feel free to use whatever variety you’d like.
  • 1/4 cup steel cut oats (4 points)
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar (1 point)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon (0 points)
  • 1 tablespoon water (0 points)

Directions:

  1. Slice your apple into small to medium size chunks. Either place directly into a microwave-safe dish or mug (I’m in love with large ceramic soup mugs) or into a small mixing bowl; a bowl will make mixing the ingredients easier because you’ll have some extra space, but it isn’t necessary. I really didn’t want to dirty the extra dish, but I ended up spilling all over the counter and having to clean it anyway, so… that one’s your call, pal.
    Nommable: Microwave Apple Crisp
  2. Add 1/4 cup steel oats, 1 tablespoon brown sugar, 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon, and 1 tablespoon water to the apples and mix thoroughly with a spoon. If you would prefer your crisp to be sweeter, feel free to increase the brown sugar and cinnamon. If the mixture isn’t already in the mug, scoop it in now.
    Nommable: Microwave Apple Crisp
  3. Microwave the mug for 3-4 minutes, depending on your microwave and taste preference. I cooked mine for 3 1/2 minutes and the apples were soft with a little tart crisp left in the middle.

    Nommable: Microwave Apple Crisp

    Boom. Done.

And that’s all she wrote. It’s that freaking easy… not to mention totaling only 5 points for a relatively good-sized dessert. I’m also thinking this could easily qualify as a breakfast!

Note that if you increase the cinnamon in this recipe, the points will remain the same, but check your Points Plus Tracker if you decide to increase the brown sugar. A drizzle of honey at the end would also be delicious, but remember, that costs points as well. For those of you not dieting, slap a scoop of vanilla ice cream in there for the rest of us. Mmm…

Thanks for checking out the recipe! I’m graduating college next week—yahooooo!—so I’ll be posting more frequently in the coming weeks! Make sure to come back and see what I’ve got posted. Thanks again!

Leave a comment